Some people think that young people should follow older people’s examples while others think it is good for young people to challenge older people’s opinions and thoughts. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The views of the older and newer generations are always contradictory. Some people believe that the youth should emulate the older generation while others believe that questioning the latter is productive. In my essay, I would discuss both sides of the argument before reaching a conclusion. On the one hand, following the elders’ footsteps would help one prepare to endure any situation knowledgeably. The views of the elderly are realistic and influential, since, they come from the real-world experiences of both failures and successes. Thus, pursuing the proven path of one’s ancestors is better suited to succeed in life. For instance, the autobiography of Mahatma Ghandi, ‘The story of my experiments with truth’, will prepare today’s individuals to build an optimistic mindset and gratification in being self-reliant. On the other hand, criticism of the older people’s opinions by the young minds has resulted in a healthier world with fewer superstitions. Many times, our ancestors have imposed certain opinions and traditions on us based on illogical and mistaken beliefs. With the masses following them blindly, individual’s and nation's growth are hampered. The inquisition by present generation has resulted in a changed and improved society free of unscientific practices. For example, the earlier generation’sgeneration’s opined that women are mentally incapable of pursuing jobs outside their households, whereas the condemnation by today’s generation has forged indisputable respect for women’s mental strength in the society. In conclusion, the opposing thoughts of the two distinct generations are continuously on a rise. However, I believe that the younger generation should follow the positive way of living shown by the elders, while understanding and analysing the basis for such views and experiences.