Some people think movies should only be for entertainment. Others think that they should also have educational values. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

While some people consider films simply a source of entertainment, others suggest that films should be educational. Personally, I believe that films can be either, or both, entertaining and educational; however, it is up to each individual to choose what films they like to watch and for what reasons they watch them. These days, films and TV are extremely popular forms of entertainment. Almost every household owns one or more televisions, and almost everybody loves to watch a certain television program or type of film. After a long day at work or school, many people simply want to come home and sit in front of the TV to relax and be entertained. They may not have the energy or enthusiasm to sit and learn about something. Furthermore, films and television programs are a part of the entertainment industry. The purpose of this industry is for entertainment, and it is a multibillion-dollar industry that creates jobs and generates a lot of money in many countries. On the other hand, films and TV programs can have very strong effects on the minds of audiences and therefore people should be careful about how the content of the films that they watch affect them and their families. For example, many people’s morals and values are shaped by what they watch on TV and in films. In addition, children can learn about right and wrong through the cartoons they watch, while adults can also learn many important lessons through watching films. For instance, watching a film about war may cause people to have a strong sense of patriotism for their country which could be seen as a positive educational effect. In conclusion, while educational films, such as documentaries, can also be entertaining, and some films for entertainment can also have many educational aspects, I believe it is not necessary that all films need to be educated.