Some people believe that it is the responsibility of the individuals to take care of their own health and diet. Others however believe that government should make sure that their citizen have a healthy diet.

A healthy citizen is a boon to the economic development of the country. Only the efforts of the healthy civilian can push the economic engine of the country to work at its highest efficiency. Some experts say that the government should make and enforce rules for physical well-being of their taxpayer. However, I believe that, people are more accountable for their own health than the regime. Firstly, the type of diet is the personal issue of the individual. Any interference in the personal life of the people can attract resistance from the public. For instance, enforcing a complete vegetarian meal can raise the issue among the advocates of meat-based products. This can be harmful for the harmony of the society. Secondly, working schedule of each person is different from the other. Some people are doing nine to five office jobs, while others are doing hard laborious work. Therefore, the nutritional needs of each person will vary based on the work they are doing. Consequently, making a general meal plan will make half population obese, while other struggling for proper nutrition. However, the state should lay some guidelines for a healthy diet. These guidelines should be based on the scientific studies for the nutritional requirements of a human body. Moreover, authority should invest in awareness programs to aware masses about calorific value of different kinds of food. For instance, in some country’s laws have been enforced by the ministry to mention the number of calories in the product while selling it. To sum it up, drafting a generalized diet plan by the state for their national will only be encountered by friction from the society. But an aware resident with proper guidance from rule can help in achieving the goal of a healthy society.