The increase in the production of consumer goods results in damage to the natural environment. What are the causes of this? What can be done to solve this problem?

Much attention has been drawn to the extent of damage inflicted on the ecosystem by the manufacturing industry. Taking account of the enormous demand for consumer goods in the current market, I suspect the prime cause of the problem lies in the production system itself. From a personal perspective, the best course of action to solve the issue is therefore to explore alternative materials or more eco-friendly manufacturing techniques. To bring the shortcomings of the production process into sharp focus, it is worth looking at the chemical by-products of the process. Most industrialists labour under a misapprehension that unrestrained economic growth can be achieved without damaging the environment. However, in practice, as more goods are produced, not only has more carbon dioxide being emitted to the air, but more cleaning agents have also leaked into water sources. Moreover, single-use products, most of which are non-biodegradable plastics, have been introduced to accommodate customers’ ever-increasing demands. Discarded easily and being able to remain as wastes for thousands of years, these plastic products find their way into the ocean and threaten marine fauna. Taking those points into consideration, a plausible solution should be striving towards the usage of more environmentally friendly materials. For instance, Starbucks chains have opted for paper or bamboo straws, as well as cups, as a substitution for plastics. If the initial investment and the maintenance cost of the alternatives are high, which oftentimes are the case, governmental promotion, such as tax breaks or financial incentives can go a long way towards developing more sustainable production practices. Businesses making use of renewable sources of energy, for example, can be subsidized by taxpayers, in contrast with those that use nonrenewable sources. In conclusion, the manufacturing sector has taken its toll on the environment due to the concomitant hazardous substances that are subsequently disposed of after the production process. In an attempt to address this issue, going green should be practiced by both the companies and the governments.