Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There has been a difference of opinion regards the merits of enforcing university students to choose key subjects related to science and technology. In my opinion, students should be free to study whatever they prefer. On the one hand, the option to regulate the subjects that are taken by students is attractive for several reasons. On the individual level, certain careers like engineering, medicine, among others similar, allow to have better job opportunities, career progression, and therefore an improved quality of life for those who take them. In this way, these courses are most useful in the future than art degrees. From a social perspective, professionals can make a great difference in society through their knowledge, they could even create new industries, inventions and therefore prosperity to the nation. On the other hand, I believe that people should be allowed to study their preferred courses. To begin with, it is more beneficial for society, if students are more passionate about their subjects. In fact, every person puts more effort into something that motivates him. For example, nowadays, there are thousands of non-qualified workers, a common reason is that they only studied because their parent`s pressure. Moreover, nobody can predict the future, maybe with the advance of technology and science would be vital having a creative thinking skill, if this were the case, this type of profile will be required rather than technical skills. By way of conclusion, even subjects related to science and technology seem to bring more opportunities, I believe that is better the current system where people have the right to study what they like.