in many places, new homes are needed, but the only space available for building them is in the countryside. some people believe it is more important to protect the countryside and not build new homes there. what is your opinion about this?

These days, there is an ongoing debate between people about building new homes on the country side. While it is possible to claim that it is important to protect the countryside, my view is that the disadvantages outweigh the advantages. In this essay, I shall explain my point of view by analysing both sides of the argument. There are several reasons why it is essential to build new homes in the surroundings rather than building vertically in already established areas. One of them is due to affordability. To explain, in countries such as Australia, where house prices are often expansive, the government distributed country side land for cheaper rates so that people can build affordable housing. Those who argue for protecting terrain have a different view and say it can actually be a good thing. Firstly, the scenery is claimed to be full with forest, and trees. Next, they are natural habitats for many wild animals and birds. Hence, by not building new homes in the scenery, the nature can be saved. While there are strong arguments on the both sides of the case, my personal opinion is that by building on the environment, people with less income can get a place to live and it helps improve the quality of life for the entire city and reduce congestion in the cities.