Some people think that the best way to improve road safety is to increase the min legal age for driving a car or motorbike. To what extend you agree/disagree.

It is a commonly held belief that in order to enhance road safety, the authorities shall increase the minimum legal age. While some believe that raising the age bar would reduce the trend in (accident). While others argue against it. There are various influencing factors, for example, vehicle, road infrastructure & road users. Moreover, there are various risk groups (primary target, high risk population & those medically at risk). According to the UN, major victims are people between 5 to 44 years of age. Reason (why they are at risk). The Canada Road Safety Strategy has focused on matrix of key target groups and contributing factors in order to determine the underlying issues. One of the other influencing factors is the design of the vehicle. While most of the (old) cars are not equipped with all the safety measures, the fatality rate is high. For example, they don’t have three point seat belt. However, according to the UN, 40% of speeding drivers involved in fatal crashes were from 16-24 years of age. For the stated problem, Canadian Road Safety has introduced restrictions for novice drivers in order to avoid collisions. In conclusion, I feel that it is more important to control other factors rather than focusing on the age factor.