Many old buildings protected by law are part of a nation’s history. Some people think they should be knocked down and replaced by news ones. How important is it to maintain old buildings? Should history stand in the way of progress?

Several historical buildings are preserved by governments as heritage sites. A group of individuals believes that they should be demolished and replaced with new buildings. I strongly opine that retaining old buildings is important since it holds a lot of historical values and cities look unique that combined modern and old architecture. According to many people protecting ancient buildings is important since they have many historical values. In other words, the majority of these buildings had become eyewitnesses of some special and tragic moments of a city. A perfect example of this would be Hagia Sophia, an architectural intelligence of Byzantine architecture, formerly a Greek Christian cathedral, later converted to an Ottoman Imperial mosque and now a museum in Istanbul, Turkey which attracts thousands of tourists and reflects the cultural heritage of many empires. Many of the cities still preserving these sites and building new high rises around them to fulfil the drastic need of the growing population. These historical buildings standing along with the new skyscrapers showcase a unique view of the city. Therefore, the combination of old and modern structures has made the city fascinating and attractive. One of the examples is the Dubai Frame building, a landmark positioned in such a way that represents modern Dubai at one side, while from other side visitors can view the older part of the city. To sum up, maintaining historical buildings is an essential thing because they had become the witness of some important events. And it is a fact that the combination of old and modern buildings brings a lot of benefits to the city and the country as well.