Some people believe that studying at university or college is the best route to a successful career, while others think that it is better to get a job straight after school. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Upon high school graduation, students face the dilemma of continuing their studies at university or taking a job. While some believe it is better to pursue higher education, I agree with the idea that enrolling at a university leads to more success in their careers. Some may argue that working after high school helps those graduates develop an independent life and gives them an insight into their future careers. First, they can learn to live independently by managing their own income and spending. In Vietnam, students taking jobs after high school and living away from their parents are more self-reliant adults who can cover the compounding costs of accommodation, transport and food without asking their parents for a monthly spending allowance. Second, they are given the opportunity and time to observe how other people work in their workplaces. As a result, they may acquire a better understanding of their chosen profession and thus make a rational decision about their future, whether it is better to go back to university or to run a business. However, I believe it is more beneficial for students to continue their studies. One benefit is qualifications are an essential prerequisite for employment in certain professions. It is considered illegal to practice medicine without medical degrees or give legal advice without law degrees in most countries in the world. Another benefit is people with post-secondary education and years of experience in an industry have a higher chance of rising to the top and becoming leaders or managers of their companies. This is because the diplomas or degrees in addition to work experience they possess can convince others that they the necessary skills to regulate the operation of a company’s department. In conclusion, while the option to work after school seems attractive for several reasons, I believe that pursuing a degree is more likely to lead to an envious career.