Television is dangerous because it destroys family life and any sense of community; instead of visiting people or talking with our family we jus watch television. To what extend do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Modern lifestyles usually involve squandering our valuable time in front of a TV screen. As televisions turn into a part of our daily life, some individuals consider this tendency to be perilous due to its negative effect on family relationships and community. I strongly agree with this view as this essay will explain it with examples. Although some TV shows such as documentaries can be beneficial for the individual, most channels only concentrate on hypnotizing their viewers and keeping them on their couches as long as possible. For example, advertisements usually interfere with the most exciting part of the program and does not let the observer move from his place until the show is back on. As a result, this does not only keep the spectators in front of the TV, but also damages family bonds severely. As family members are mesmerized by the images on TV, they do not even remember to share their professional or personal problems. Another issue with watching television channels is that it leaves only a tiny amount of time to be spent on both community and relatives. Furthermore, a television addict, who is usually hypnotized with unrealistic images of people, spends a considerable amount of his time watching a colour screen. Thus, the TV gives the observer a false sense of community. More than that, a person who has forgotten what it really feels like to be in a real community and around friends and relatives starts considering the TV as it has always been the same. In conclusion, I wholeheartedly agree that TV addiction can be harmful to every community, thus, the amount of time spent by an individual has to be regulated by governments.