People say that reading for pleasure helps people to develop imagination and better language skills than watching TV? Agree or not?

In recent years, many people argued that reading books for pleasure is much more effective than watching television to enhance imagination and linguistic skills. Although, the view is not without advantages, these downsides will justify these. On the one hand, reading books, especially works of literacy fictions, will be beneficial in some ways. First, by reading bedtime stories to children every night, they are able to develop their own imagination. In fact, when they heard the stories about Robinhood on a deserted island, they might picture by themselves how the island would be, and how Robinhood fought for his life in a brutal environment, which help them build imaginative thinking. Second, one of vital important roles of books is to extend vocabulary. For example, this allows people to not only recognize new words, but also the choice and use of words that are familiar. On the other hand, in term of the development of imagination and linguistic, there are some advantages of watching televison broadcasting visual images of stationary or moving objects television. First, since television channels, such as tourism and cooking, attract people by their high-end technology, they will allow people visualise the world around that difficult to imagine throughout the books. For example, by watching tourism channel on television with the sounds and effects, the audience can see and image a beautiful sea or heritages, which make them remember and describe exactly to others what it looks like. Second, nowadays many parents choose to watch television as a suitable method to develop their children English language skills. This means that they can improve their listening and speaking abilities as they hear the sound of the words and the use in spoken context with vivid images to illustrate the exact meaning, which make them speak English easily and quickly than ones who read only. In conclusion, although reading books have many benefits for the imagination and language development, the role of watching television to improve linguistic capabilities and imaginative thinking should not be underrated.