Only 20% of Tech Jobs are Held by Women. What problems do women face that prevent them from getting these jobs and what must be done to change this situation?

In this modern era, rising expenses with emerging needs, solicits both the partners in a family, to work. We can’t deny the fact that the role of women in society has been radically changed in the past few decades. Despite these incredible advances, only a negligible percentage of women are working in the tech field. In this essay, we can discuss the possible reasons for this and can find some measure to overcome. Firstly, techies are those individuals in technological field where they have to  Struggle in shifts. Not only in this office, but also they have to do a lot of assignments from home, which demands concentration as well as the time. According to the most of the family-unwritten law, the household works are assigned only to the women at home, where the woman has to chore from dawn to dusk, which doesn’t provide them much time for professional duties. Secondly, the shift timings. According to the survey by an NGO held in 2017, majority of woman techies are giving-up the job due to the security concern as the authorities can’t solve the problem of poor security in the workplace. Furthermore, Forum for women software professional have come forward citing cases that concern harassment, including sexual, maternity leave, pay inequity and more. Women are highly discriminated and men always get an upper-edge compared to women during recruitment, in spite of qualification. The involvement of the state women’s commission can somewhat solve this dilemma. Forming a grievance cell or the complaints committee for investigating and solving the issues, in the company can resolve the employment-linked disputes to an extent. Providing a safe cab facility can ensure the safety of female employees during late endeavour hours. Nowadays there are several companies who are coming up with new policies and rules to offer a safe and secure atmosphere to the female employees. Last but not the least, family should educate the men members, to respect the woman and implement gender equality in every household works. In conclusion, from running a jet plane, teaching kids to serving as admin head or company executive, women are seen playing each role with aplomb. If given proper support, female employees can perform better than men, rising the ratio. It’s not only about the degree you owe that matters, but about the values and thinking you follow that make a difference.