Some people think that physical strength is important for success in sport, while other people think that mental strength is more important. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is argued as to what makes an athlete or a team successful. While some believe the sheer physical fitness to be at the root of it, others claim mental toughness to be the main factor. This essay will analyse the arguments made by both camps before drawing a reasoned conclusion. Firstly, those who claim physical fitness to be the main ingredient of success base their idea on the fact that most of the athletes spend the majority of their training time on physical strength and conditioning, and they are rarely seen following any mental strengthening programs. Take the example of Rugby, where the most successful players are those that have spent the most training time in gyms working on their strength and agility, which directly translates to their better performance on the field. If one of these athletes starts spending less time at gyms than their competitors and start focusing on mental strengthening, then they might lose that extra strength advantage that they posses. Thus, this makes it clear why some people think this way. However, on the other hand, some people also believe that mental toughness is the ultimate deciding factor that separates a world-class athlete from the rest because at the highest level of sport all the participants are at same physical fitness levels.