Many people buy products that they do not really need and replace old products with new ones unnecessarily. Why do people but things they do not really need? Do you think this is good thing?

Nowadays, we are surrounded by more stuff compared to the past. Shopping is no longer just a measure to live on but an entertainment itself. We easily get new goods and throw the old goods away at the same time. In other words, the speed of consumption and waste are accelerating.   Behind the consumer behaviour, there are two cases related to technology development. Firstly, internet enabled online shopping, which allows us to buy various products wherever and whenever. Also, we do not have to care the size or weight of products because they will be delivered. That convenient system fosters our unnecessary shopping. Secondly, mass production culture in modern society provides us cheap and varied commodities like clothing, cosmetics and stationary. It means that we can afford more things at the same budget. Furthermore, we tend to treat cheap products poorly because they are replaceable. However, it gives a bad impact on both society and the environment. More demand drives more production, which results in mass waste. Not only resource shortage and over-wasting, but also poor working condition is caused by harsh competition in the manufacturing market. Workers at factories are paid less for cutting the costs of production as the markets become competitive. Therefore, the situation that people buy and waste stuff at a high speed is not preferable. Due to technology development, we enjoy owing a lot of products easily. However the outcome is a system which exhausts workers and nature.