Some people say that music is a good way of bringing people of different cultures and ages together. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is often argued that music has the utmost power to unite and connect people, regardless of their cultural backgrounds or ages. In this essay, I strongly endorse to this viewpoint, and will give my reasons such as live concert and television reality shows. Music can undoubtedly reach across cultural and national boundaries throughout the globe and bring people together. Possibly, the prime example of this would be the Live Aid concerts that took place back in the 1980s, and which were broadcasted to an international audience. Two live events were held simultaneously in the UK and the US, and the sole intention was to raise funds for famine relief in Ethiopia who struggled in their lives. The concerts were a tremendous success, both in terms of the number of people around the world who watched them as well as their impact on international public awareness of the famine was drastic, which revealed, I believe, that music truly is the planet’s global language. Just as it transcends cultures, music also has the ability to connect people from different generations. Irrespective of age, we can all relish a memorable melody, a strong rhythm or a beautiful singing voice, and the best songs seem to have the same enchanting effect on all of us. This would explain why televised music competitions, such as ‘The X Factor’ or ‘The Voice’, are such popular prime-time shows. These programmes fascinate incredibly broad audiences because singing and popular songs appeal to children, parents and grandparents alike. I would argue that no other form of entertainment can bring families together in this way. In conclusion, I firmly believe that music is unique in its capacity to create shared experiences between people, without discriminating culture and age.