An increasing number of people are buying what they need online. What are the advantages and disadvantages for individual and companies to shopping online?

The internet has revolutionized our society, people have become addicted to buying their essentials online. Many organizations have also started to order materials through websites created by vendors. Although it has aided in reducing the pollution levels across cities; there is a hike in online shopping scams and lack of quality products. My essay will deal with the merits and demerits of online shopping. Online shopping has managed to mitigate the pollution level across major cities. People are hardly using their personal vehicle as they prefer to shop through online websites, thereby saving fuel and preventing environmental degradation. Consequently, there is a stability in the weather pattern and air quality index has improved significantly as compared to earlier levels. Moreover, many firms have started to operate digitally, as ordering online allows faster deliver of raw materials and timely production can be achieved, thereby companies reduces production delays. Therefore, people as well as organizations are realizing the benefits of using the internet to meet their daily requirements. Some people opine that there is a risk of getting scammed online and the quality of products is not up to the standards. Moreover, the internet brings its own threats, and scammers are one among them which are continually committing fraud with people, and even in some cases, big organization also becomes a victim of these fraudsters. It is also observed that companies are not pleased by the quality of raw materials provided by online vendors which results in manufacturing delays and financial losses. In 2016, as per cyber security department of India, more than 20,000 people were scammed. Thus, these online shopping platforms have their own consequences, which is a hard reality to digest. To summarize, even though it is a hard reality of internet shopping that people are being scammed and organizations are struggling to place their feet on the digital platform, many success stories of companies making profit through online shopping has been seen.