It is better for college students to live far away from home than live at home with their parents. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is widely believed by many people that University pupils have greater advantages in living away from their parents’ home rather than staying with them for the duration of their course. I strongly agree with the statement and this essay will further consider the reasons behind my beliefs. Firstly, leaving the parents’ nest is helpful and encouraging to reach individual freedom, while gaining a higher sense of responsibility. Moreover, it is almost considered an obligated step to adulthood as well as a very common practice in certain nations such as the USA and the northern European area. Although it may be argued that leaving the family home could be disheartening at times and some people may feel homesick after a while of living by themselves I am convinced that this household arrangement actually pushes individuals to learn how to rely on themselves and this carries a series of positive consequences to someone’s temperament. Furthermore, another reason why I believe that college students should move to a different place during University is that they will probably find themselves out of their comfort zone and thus will be more likely to find new company in other peers. This will probably result in a valuable enhancement of a student’s network of friendships and it will enable them to get in contact with several cultures as well. For instance, in the USA and Australian Colleges, the majority of students residing on campus are international, coming from many different countries than make a typical student accommodation a melting pot of communities and culture which makes the graduating experience even more captivating and meaningful. In conclusion, I assume that moving away from the parent’s home to go to University in a distant location is highly beneficial for a student as it enhances their sense of independence and responsibility while letting them socialize with other people and get in touch with different cultures and traditions at the same time.