Some people say that there is too much harmful content on the internet. They say the only way to make the internet safe is for the government to censor the content of websites. To what extent do you think the government should control what information is available on the internet? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There are some people who do not like the idea that the internet can have positive impacts due to too much dangerous content that is spread widely and freely. This opposing side suggests the government censor the content of websites so it will be safe to access. This essay will elaborate on what the should government do to control and make the internet secure to be used. The government has a pivotal role as a policy maker for the public, including online data protection. In Indonesia, we have the Ministry of Communication and Digital Affairs that is responsible for communications, information affairs and internet censorship. They should be careful in protecting country and citizen's databases especially those already stored in online systems because nowadays there are so many hackers that can hijack the precious information of people easily. The government can prevent the case to be happened by censoring some websites that can illegally collect user data and lead to negative impacts such as online gambling and pornhub. People in Indonesia are familiar with these kinds of websites and they can be accessed by anyone, including the youth under 18. If the government do not censor or make some restrictions then it can lead to damage future, especially for the younger who can not think properly. Moreover, the government should be wise in choosing which partner can have a legal website in Indonesia so they can control it carefully. This is one of the best ways to make the internet secure to access by people as well. They also need to make some regulations about who can access the internet and not according to their legal age so they will be wise in using the internet. In conclusion, even though people should be careful with their own desire to use the internet, the government also has a critical role in protecting their citizens' databases by protecting the safe internet.