Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Tourism, studies and work opportunities have attracted a huge portion of foreigners coming to a country. As a result, being capable of speaking more than just your mother tongue is more important than ever. The purpose of being multilingual is diverse, too. Some would argue that it is only for international journeying and oversea working, while others believe that there are more than two reasons mentioned above. In this essay, I would examine the objectives of studying languages. First of all, plenty of people are studying so as to travel or work in foreign countries. Due to the development of industry and technology, highly educated employees are now welcomed all over the world. Big companies, such as Apple, Google, Facebook, etc., want to recruit the best people no matter where they come from. Consequently, there exists a tendency to work abroad to get better offers and job opportunities. Understanding what colleagues say is crucial for getting along with that career. Next, tourism is growing rapidly. Therefore, oversea travelling is a new trend. In order to express what you want while travelling abroad, you should be able to speak their word. Those are the main two reasons why a person studies a new language. On the other hand, those are not the only reasons. From my perspective, the purposes can be for studying, and even for entertaining. I am planning on having postgraduate studying in a famous university in France, then I ought to understand French to comprehend what French professors say. If I am doing a research, and there are not many articles relating to my problems in my mother tongue, I will have to search for the information in English as it is the language of science. In addition, my sister is fond of Korean culture, so she studies Korean just for entertaining. A lot of people share the same purpose as my sister does, only to entertain themselves. Those are the reasons for studying a foreign language other than journeys and careers. To summarize, people being multilingual are not only for travelling and working abroad, but also for studying and other personal reasons. Languages are the key to better understanding of humanity.