Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Childhood education is one of the hottest topics nowadays as people are becoming more aware of the importance of children's upbringing. Some people hold opinions that they should learn to be competitive enough to embrace their future life while others think they should have been gregarious. In this essay, I am going to discuss both sides. Firstly, people have been competing with each other consciously or unconsciously since they were born. Examples can be seen businessmen strive for more efficient ways of production to save cost and increase profits; students work diligently for more opportunities to get top grades or to be able to enter well-known universities; parents spur their children to be outstanding among their peers and every one of us is eager for success or a relatively good standard of living conditions. Moreover, in order to get a good job with high salary and social status, people have to become more competent. It is a common phenomenon that many applicants compete for one position in job markets. Hence, the lesson from the observation is that teaching people how to compete at a young age is of high importance. On the other hand, children also need to cooperate with others. The society where we live is a huge family that contains everyone’s contribution. In other words, it is not a platform for a single person. Speaking of, for instance, filmmaking, money exchanging, products circulation and international trade, there is undoubtedly a need for a variety of people in order to make them run properly. Hence, children need to be taught how to share and cooperate with other people as they live in the family. Cooperation is, as well, a way to make things easier and more effective with everyone’s participation and contribution. For example, management board in a company is usually made up by more than one person. In conclusion, children should become more competitive and at the same time they need to learn how to cooperate with others as both sides will bring merit to them.