Some people believe that governments must apply high taxes to provide good public services for everyone. Give your opinion.

Tax rates have been a debatable topic for centuries. Some people think that a high tax rate should be applied by the governments in order to improve the overall local amenities. I agree that a high tariff can be used to improve public services, however, there should be a limit on the tax rate. Having a good public service is depending on the taxation revenue of a country. This means that if the people of a country pay a high amount of tax yearly, we can assure that the general services of that nation such as transportation, healthcare, and education, provided will be excellent as the government has the fund to maintain such services. In German, for instance, people are able to access all the health centres without any charges as it is funded by the revenue from taxation. That is why governments should have implemented a high tax rate for everyone. There should be a limit, however, on how much an individual or company should be taxed. Although someone with a higher income should be taxed higher, the government must be fair in creating a certain limit of tax rate so that the taxpayers will not be de-motivated and can still continue to work. This example can be seen in Singapore, where the motivation index of the taxpayers in paying the tax is increased as they are given some incentives by the government. Therefore, it is essential to create such a limitation for all individuals who pay the tax. In conclusion, this essay discussed why it is good for governments to apply a high tax rate as it improves the quality of the local amenities, however, there should be a limitation on the rate to be taxed. In my opinion, the government should tax the people based on their income so that the taxpayers will continue to pay and the public services will also be maintained well.