Some people believe that studying at university or college is the best route to a successful career, while others think that it is better to get a job straight after school. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People have different opinions as to whether students should continue their studies at a tertiary institute or take a job upon high school graduation. This essay will discuss both views, and then I will give my own perspective. Some may argue that working after high school helps those graduates develop an independent life and gives them an insight into their future careers. First, they can learn to live independently by managing their income. In Vietnam, students who choose to work after high school are more self-reliant adults who can cover the compounding costs of accommodation, transport, and food without asking their parents for a monthly spending allowance. Second, working provides students with the opportunity and time to observe how other people work in their workplaces. As a result, they may acquire a better understanding of their chosen profession and thus make a rational decision whether to go back to university or to run a business. Supporters of students’ furtherance of their education have their own reasons. One benefit is that a college education is a prerequisite for employment in certain professions. For instance, it is illegal to practice medicine or give legal advice without a relevant degree in most countries in the world. Another benefit is that compared to those having only work experience, people who also have academic credentials would stand a higher chance of rising to the top and becoming leaders or managers of their companies. This is because the combined qualifications they possess can convince others that they have the necessary skills and relevant knowledge to regulate a company's operation. In conclusion, while there are good arguments supporting both views, it seems to me that pursuing higher education more likely leads to a rewarding career. This is because I believe that with educational qualifications, people can have good prospects of promotion and progress more quickly throughout their careers since companies tend to value educational backgrounds, whereas those without academic qualifications may face promotion problems.