The advantages of the spread of English as a global language will continue to outweigh its disadvantages. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the rise of industrialization in the 18th century, followed by the LPG policies of the governments across the world, English has become a global language. Despite the disadvantages, English is widely spoken across the globe. This itself shows that the advantages of English far outweigh the disadvantages. Several argue that the emergence of a single global tongue, in this case, English, would undermine other languages. But their argument does not hold true. Even when English is spoken by many, several acclaimed Universities take necessary steps for the promotion of different languages. Evidently, it is English that enables students of different nations, access to prestigious Universities. English has significantly contributed to the development of the Tourism sector of the economy. This is because when there is a common dialect, communication becomes easier and queries can be addressed instantly. This has been made possible with the English language. Kerala, a southern state of India, where Malayalam is the mother tongue, has significantly benefited from the Tourism sector. Why, because a large section of the state's population speaks English, thereby catering to the needs of foreign tourists with ease. The prominence of English has also enabled multinational companies to diversify their business on an international scale. This has indeed benefited several underdeveloped nations. In addition, English provides an opportunity for businesses in these countries to go global. Outsourcing of IT services is another major benefit. Consequently,  IT professionals are able to effectively address the queries of other nationals, because English acts as the common medium of communication. A free flow of information follows when there is a common dialect and English has made this possible. A major example would be the Bangalore city of India, where a large number of US companies' call centres operate.  To sum up, even when I acknowledge the downsides of English as a global medium, I strongly believe that English will bolster the communication system of every nation and makes the demerits less significant.