Cycling is healthier and environmentally friendly form of transport. Nevertheless, cycling is getting less popular . What are the reasons of this trend? What can be done to make cycling more popular?

It is undeniable cycling is a useful activity to increase fitness level and prevent the deterioration of the environment. This essay will analyse some reasons why it does not gain popularity and suggest any methods to tackle this issue. There are some sound explanations why people still take no interest in cycling. The first reason is that they consider their comfort the top priority. That is the reason why they have a tendency to favour quick and convenient kinds of transportation, including cars or motors, instead of cycling which is physically exhausting activity. Other than that, the neglect of bikes can be attributed to the lack of lanes for cycling commuters. In comparison with other vehicles, bikes have far lower speed, which means that if bikers have to share lanes with others, they can be faced with the potential risks of fracture, permanent disabilities or even fatalities caused by traffic accidents. However, the government can implement some solutions below to arouse more interest from the public into cycling. First of all, they should allocate financial resources to install separated lanes only for the sake of cycling. According the aforementioned idea, sharing streets with other vehicles can pose a threat to cycling commuters; therefore, this approach may maintain their safety. Moreover, the authority can impose heavy taxes on vehicles which can be considered as a culprit behind the higher volume of atmospheric greenhouse gases. The reason is that people will transfer to use bikes that are environment-friendly transportation with a view to relieving financial burden, which contributes to the increase in the use of bikes. Ultimately, the government can carry out some educational campaigns to heighten people’s awareness of the roles of cycling in the protection of the environment. All in all, cycling is not the top choice because of road infrastructure and people’s attitudes; thus, the government has responsibilities to solve them.