In many countries it is now illegal to smoke in public places. It is only fair that people who wish to smoke should have to leave the building. Do you agree or disagree?

Smoking is injurious to health, and despite that, many people continue to smoke. Public smoking has adverse effects on the health of non-smokers. As a result, many countries have banned public smoking. People who want to smoke should leave the premise to avoid annoyance to non-smokers. In my opinion, making public smoking illegal is a positive step and smokers should not smoke in public areas and penalised if caught smoking. Firstly, public smoking has many disadvantages. It leads to passive smoking in non-smokers which has detrimental health effects, especially in children. Moreover, the cigarette smoke pollutes the surrounding air with toxic gases which damages our lungs, and prolonged inhalation of smoke causes fatal respiratory diseases or even lung cancer. Furthermore, it causes problems for people with existing respiratory conditions. For example, people who have asthma have difficulty breathing if they come near smoke. Hence, making public smoking illegal was a wise step. Secondly, making smokers leave buildings such as office or malls avoids inconvenience to non-smokers. It promotes a healthy ambience and is a step closer towards a better society. Additionally, it discourages smoking, particularly among the youth, who quickly develop bad habits. It also improves the economy. For instance, many people prefer to carry out their activities in smoke -free zones. In conclusion, smoking in public places is seriously unhealthy to non-smokers and therefore, banning public smoking is undoubtedly a right decision. It will discourage smoking as well as help avoid any conflict, irritation and problems smokers cause to the public because they will be forced to move out of public areas and buildings.