Many people say that companies should give importance to their employees, whereas others say that they should give importance to customers. Discuss both and opine.

People, either in form of employees or customers, form the essence of each and every company that exists in the world today. We also know that companies are built by the people and for the people, and they cannot survive without either of the two groups. In this essay, I will discuss whether the companies should prioritize employees over customers, or whether they should put customers first. Those in favour of putting employees first, say that happy employees can lead to happy customers. Conventionally, customer satisfaction has been the foremost goal of companies, but of late they have begun to understand that it is impossible to achieve customer gratification without the help of their employees. Because of this, they have started focusing their attention towards the benefit of their workforce. For example, nowadays a lot of companies are providing facilities such as daycare centres, gymnasiums and Sports Centers within their office premises. Some organisations have also started hosting lots of event for the employees such as award functions, and health checkups etcetera, so that the employees feel valued in the organisation. On the other hand, the main reason given by those in favour of putting customers first is that customers are the livelihood of the business. The relationship between an organisation and a customer is an important one. To what extent customers are willing to spend depends upon how well they are treated. That is why, organisations today are taking great pains to achieve customer satisfaction. They are spending a lot of energy and time on finding out what is important to the customers. We can say that the customers will always remain important in a company, because without happy customers, any company can see its doom. I believe that the happiness of both – employees and customers has to be in balance. Both need to be heard and respected to make it a win-win situation. This question is like asking ‘ heart first or lungs first?’ You cannot live if any of these, stop working. Organizations have to realize that their customers will only be happy if the people servicing their customers are happy. Employees are the key touchpoints to know the customer better, so an organization can develop and deliver products and services that are relevant to customers ’ needs and expectations. To conclude, I would like to mention that although the customer has always been the king in a company, but in today’s competitive market the organisations have to look into their employees ’ happiness simultaneously. If approached as mutually exclusive efforts, they are doomed to lose both.