Museums and art galleries should concentrate on local works rather than showing the cultures or artworks from other countries. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

According to some people, museums and art galleries should exhibit artwork that reflects regional culture instead of foreign culture. I completely oppose this viewpoint because I believe that museums and art galleries serve as the best place for people of a nation to learn about the culture of another country, and they also contribute to the nation’s economy. To begin with, people already have several opportunities to learn a lot about their country’s tradition and history from their elders at home or teachers at school. Therefore, they do not like to visit the museum or art gallery that displays artwork of culture already known to them. However, they show a keen interest to gain knowledge of the culture of other countries that they cannot afford to visit and do not already have knowledge of. Thus, they like to visit only those museums which display the artwork of other countries. In addition to this, when museums and art galleries display the history of a foreign country, they can make a financial contribution to a country’s economy. When museums display only native artwork, people do not like to shell out extra bucks to purchase the entry ticket because they feel they are not going to learn anything new. On the contrary, when people feel that they have an opportunity to grasp knowledge about the history of other countries, they are not reluctant to pay for the tickets. Therefore, museums that possess foreign artefacts can contribute to the economy of a nation. In conclusion, I strongly believe that museums and art galleries should not limit themselves to local artwork; rather they should showcase foreign sculpture and artwork as this practice helps people to learn about the culture of other countries without leaving their country.