Not enough students choose science subjects in university in many countries. What are the reasons for this problem? What are the effects on society?

It is irrefutable that, nowadays, only a handful of students are interested in opting for science subjects for their tertiary education. This essay will discuss various reasons of this drift and its effect on the society. As these subjects require a high intellect level, are quite challenging and requires an extra effort to learn them, many average students do not consider pursuing them in future. They just try to get through science lessons till they are a compulsion, and opt out whenever they get the first chance to do so. Additionally, the structure of university teaching related to Science is quite feudal, and as a result, juveniles easily lose interest in these subjects. Owing to the emphasis given to the theoretical knowledge rather than practical, students finds these subjects quiet monotonous. A recent research conducted by the Cambridge University concluded that, many students do not consider a career in science stream because they feel that the lectures are boring and difficult to cope with. Owing to the current trend, the world will soon witness scarcity of young new researchers and doctors, and consequently, now new discoveries would be done in these streams. For instance, if a global pandemic break out in the coming future, we would require scientists, doctors and researchers for various reasons. Doctors would be needed to cure people and the scientists to find the vaccine of the deadly disease. If no one would be interested in studying science, we will see a downfall of such professions, and if, anytime in the future, such situation would occur, it would be difficult to cope, and ultimately the world would end. In conclusion, pupils are not interested in studying the concepts of science because many theories are quite complicated and tricky for many of them to understand. Moreover, the teachers also give more emphasis on theoretical knowledge than practical. If this trend continues, there would be less scientist and doctors, which would be a great problem for the entire world.