People are having more and more sugar-based drinks. What are the reasons? What are the solutions to make people drink less.

It is indubitable that nowadays both adults and children are addicted to fizzy drinks. This dramatic increase in the intake of sugar -based drinks have caused adverse effects on the well-being of individuals. In this essay, I shall analyse some of the reasons for high intake of sugary drinks and further provide with viable solutions. To begin with, it has been noted that most teenagers are more likely to become addicted to fizzy drinks; this is because of the modern interactive advertisements. Companies invest huge amounts of money to advertise their drinks, but with misleading or hidden information on the nutritional values of the drinks. For instance, a recent survey showed that 80% of the children have minimal information on the side effects of these drinks. As a result, such children have weak immune systems and they are prone to fall sick more often. One of the ways to tackle this problem is to introduce strict laws and impose heavy fines on such companies which mislead the people with false advertisements. In addition, such companies should also advertise the harmful effects of excessive intake of their products. Another reason for this dramatic increase is due to the usage of artificial additives and high levels of sugar by food companies to enhance the taste of their drinks. Consequently, people are more addicted to these drinks because of the improved and sweet taste. For example, people with high levels of sugar intake are overweight and usually have serious health problems. To combat this problem, schools and health centres should educate people about the negative impacts of high sugar intake. Moreover, healthy drinks should be introduced with no artificial additives to decrease the level of overall intake of sugary drinks. In conclusion, drinks with high levels of sugar have caused serious consequences to the physical and mental health of people. Governments should not procrastinate with the implementation of new laws and imposing heavy fines on such companies which produce unhealthy drinks.