In order to solve traffic problems, governments should tax private car owners heavily and use the money to improve public transportation. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a solution?

It has been argued that people who have own vehicles should heavily taxed so that the public transport system can be developed from the tax funds. However, there are some benefits and drawbacks to such a trend that need to be considered. Firstly, the number of vehicles will be dropped because of the tight taxation for private vehicle owners is applied. This kind of regulation discourages other to possess vehicles because the owner not only expend any amount of money but also for fuel and car maintenance. As a result, they transform their daily accommodation to public transportation. Secondly, it is well known that many public facilities is not feasible to use due to lack of financial resources. Therefore, imposing tax on private car users could be a way for governments to earn some money and invest it for upgrading public transportation services. Consequently, people will not hesitate to travel by buses or trains any more. On the other hand, there are some negative outcomes of this approach. Imposing unreasonable fines on its citizens can lead to disputes between the authorities and the general public. In addition, there are some underdeveloped countries with their resident only have modest incomes and tax on private vehicles will put them in severe financial difficulties. In this regard, protests can be emerge in the country and make the country’s economic situation quite dangerous. Moreover, it is for people to decide whether they should use public transport or not even though this service is fascinating. In conclusion, it is true that some beneficial will appear following the impost such as developing public transportation with the best service. However, there are some disadvantages that need to be considered.