"Completing university education is thought by some to be the best way to get a good job. On the other hand, other people think that getting experience and developing soft skills is more important. Discuss both sides and give your opinion."

Some people argue that graduating from university is a huge opportunity to be hired by a good company, whereas others believe that communicative abilities and life experience are more essential. Personally, I side with the latter view, as I believe that nowadays networking and collaboration skills are more beneficial. One commonly held belief is that a diploma from university provides many opportunities to find a great job. This perspective is based on the idea that the diploma is evidence that the candidate has certain knowledge suitable for this specialty. Moreover, employers are able to check the academic performance of the candidate and draw a conclusion about their capabilities. Such a belief encourages more individuals to complete higher education. A clear example of this can be seen in Kazakhstan, where students are highly driven to gain admission to university and successfully complete their degree. This explains why this opinion remains popular among students. One compelling argument in favour of the opposite view is that social competencies and real-world knowledge are highly valued in the modern world. This is largely due to the era of technology, where people are losing their ability to communicate and are more focused on completing their daily tasks. In addition, in this century, more professions have appeared that require both emotional intelligence and soft skills. For instance, if a large company had to choose between two candidates—an individual who has a diploma and a person with strong communication abilities—it would likely prefer to hire the second one. In conclusion, while some people view a university diploma as evidence of academic knowledge, others emphasise that in the present day, networking and soft skills are more necessary for modern professions, which I completely agree with.