Eating too much sugar is harmful to health. Some people think it is the government’s responsibility to limit people’s sugar consumption, while others think it is an individual’s responsibility to limit the amount of sugar they eat. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There is agreement that the amount of sugar people consume is often over the healthy limit, but whether this is the responsibility of individuals or governments to solve is debatable. In my opinion, limiting sugar intake is a shared responsibility of both, but in different ways. Some would argue that it is the government’s role to limit sugar consumption as they are in control of legislation. Clearly the greatest problem with sugar consumption is how much ‘hidden’ sugar there is in drinks and processed foods. It is therefore the government’s duty to enforce laws that require food companies to clearly label their products in simple terms so that consumers know how much sugar is contained within them. It should also be their responsibility to place hard limits on the amount of sugar that is permissible in processed foods, and not just leave this up to the companies themselves. However, others would argue that it is up to individuals to control their own behaviour. A government can legislate, but it is up to the individual to educate themselves about healthy options and choose better products when they shop. People often use the excuse of ‘not knowing’ what is and is not a healthy option. However, there is so much information available nowadays about food content on the internet and in the media that this is a weak excuse. It is very easy to find out what is an acceptable daily allowance of sugar for children and adults and use the product labels to stay under that limit. In conclusion, I would argue that there are valid arguments for a certain amount of responsibility on both sides. Therefore, limiting sugar intake has to be shared between governments and individuals. A government can require more transparency from food companies, but only an individual can actually stop making poor choices.