Many people in society believe that having fixed punishments for all crimes is more efficient way of dealing with criminals in the justice system. What are the advantages and disadvantages of having fixed punishment system?

Many artists are well supported by their governments, but some feel that this is a misuse of taxpayers’ money. Although many artists couldn’t continue to work without this support, I feel that public healthcare is in more urgent need of the money. On the one hand, it is difficult for many arts institutions to generate profit, so without some help from the government, many theatres and other such places may have to close. It is important that the government assists such institutions so that they can continue to provide entertainment to the public. For example, there are many open-air concerts in the summer months in my hometown which wouldn’t exist without the financial backing of the local council. However, I would argue that if these places were popular enough, they would be able to generate their own income. On the other hand, public hospitals all over the world are under financial strain. It would seem obvious that people’s health is of more importance than people’s entertainment, so this money should be given to hospitals to upgrade equipment and shorten waiting lists. For instance, Downshire Hospital in Ireland has blamed the lack of public funding for their shortage of nurses and available beds. Therefore, I believe that the money given to artists should be redirected into the healthcare system. In conclusion, although we may have fewer opportunities to enjoy the work of artists, I maintain that the money should be put into hospitals because people’s health is a more worthy cause.