Sending criminals to prison is not the best method of dealing with them. Education and job training are better ways to help them. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Crime has become one of the most important issues in the society nowadays. While some people think that the best way to solve this problem is placing criminals in jail, others believe that providing education and job training programs for them is more effective. In my opinion, I completely agree with this view. To begin with, there are various reasons why I think government should not consider sending offenders to prison as the best method. Firstly, the government has to cover the cost of running and managing prisons, which include a huge amount of money for security and facilities. This money could be used for funding a lot of other essential matters that benefit the society such as public transportation and health care. Secondly, imprisoning criminals in the long time might lead to their resentful and unpleasantness. So they could continue to commit crimes after they are released. Lastly, criminals in jail might have negative effects from other offenders, which prevents them from being good citizens. In contrast, I believe that offering education and occupational skill training programs for law breakers might have more advantages in changing their mindset and attitude. Firstly, education programs will teach them about morality and equip them the ability to distinguish between the right and wrong things. Therefore, they might be better people and do good things for others when they come back to the community. Secondly, providing job training for offenders might give them the opportunity to get jobs, and thus, they could earn money and live independently. It is extremely important because I believe suffering from poverty is the root cause of most of the crimes. Finally, educated criminals might have a better chance to integrate into society and live a better life after they finish their punishments. In conclusion, although imprisonment is the most popular method to deal with crime problems, I strongly believe that there are better ways to reduce crime rate in the society such as education and job training.