Some parents say that giving expensive gifts to a child can create bad habits in him/her. Agree or disagree.

These days many parents are buying expensive gifts for their children. While some argue that such gifts create a detrimental effect on them, I, however, agree with this view for two reasons. The primary reason why most parents should not buy such gifts is that children do not value it. To elucidate, the majority of teenagers do not give importance to such expensive gifts because they are not enough mature to handle it and could spoil it intentionally or unintentionally. Also, most children often get bored easily and do not use or touch them again. For example, a survey conducted by the Child Welfare Organisation in India found that 85% of teenagers do not see or use those expensive gifts again that are bought from their parents. Therefore, parents should not get such costly gifts for them. Another reason is getting addicted to buying such expensive gifts every time. It is true that once a child gets such costly gift they become addicted to having such valuable items in the future even though their parents do not financially sound. For instance, in China, 55% of children want expensive phones such as the latest version of the iPhone or the Samsung from their parents as they bought once from them earlier. Such habits not only does it spoil them, but also put mentally and financially pressure on their parents. Hence, they do not allow their children to get such costly gifts. In conclusion, although some are in the favour of buying valuable gifts for their children is good, I disagree with them as children do not value such presents, spoils them knowingly or unknowingly and lead to them to have always such gifts with them.