Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Selecting the correct employee for a particular job would become a challenging task for the managers. Some people perceive that finding personal information about the skills or material status will helps to decide their capabilities and their focus. However, others think that these will not be useful to judge the person in an interview. This essay will discuss my stance with supporting arguments in the below paragraphs. To begin with, the predominate reason for the interviewer ask for personal information is that helps to get an idea about an individual’s goals. This will provide information about their interest and analytical abilities which helps to decide whether that person is suitable for a job or not. Although, an idea is about the interviews marital status helping to find out their focusing capabilities, this will help them to get increasing manpower whenever they needed. For example, by knowing that a candidate is a good sports player, then it would be easily identified that makes them able to work with many team players easily. On the other hand, others believe that this parameter are not important to decide their capabilities. The first reason is that people having different hobbies during their life. Even this will change as time passes, that’s the way this would not be used to decide their capabilities. Furthermore, to find out person’s dedication to a company depends on not only their health but also depends on their future goals also. For instance, Research conducted shows that interviewers have to decide person’s abilities by knowing their nature and analysing their behaviour in a challenging atmosphere, this will help in the growth of the company. In conclusion, by knowing person’s basic info helps to decide their interest and psychical abilities. However, this will change as per time goes. As per my opinion, the interviewer has to consider the knowledge and basic data would be used at a certain extent.