More and more people prefer to read e-books rather than paper books. What are the reasons for this? What problems can this cause for libraries?

In recent years, a lot of perplexed publishers have been scratching their heads for the recent trend of e-books. There is no doubt that readers often prefer a digital version more than a hard copy of the story book. This essay will explore some of the possible reasons which might have caused this situation and highlight a few disadvantages for a library. One concern is that young people are usually taking a paperback version as a luxury item, whereas they can receive a cheap alternative in their smart phone or tablet right away. To give an illustrative example, consumers of the Kindle device from Amazon company are offered by a list of million virtual books which is a thousand times better, especially in terms of time, money, and place, than going to a physical book shop. In addition, nowadays many residents are aware and active because of the issue of environment, global warming, climate change, and so forth. In order to save more tree, a lot of book users might be boycotting the paper version in a more subtle way. On the other hand, the paper-based industry has lost a number of local international publishers, renowned public and local libraries, newspapers, and so on, in spite of having a glorious past. This is indeed unfortunate because it is barely possible to revitalise the library operation like before cause people have found more lucrative means of their recreation and entertainment. For instance, a recent Harvard University study has revealed in late 2015 that the number of local libraries in South Asia has been decreased by 35% already. As a consequence, many great initiatives are now trying to survive in a niche market which would be depleted in the future. Without the assistance of universities and academic institution, the library tradition, therefore, would not be able to sustain alone in this competitive market. In conclusion, while educating young generation depends on an easier version of reading through electronic gadgets and acknowledges the negative effects for cutting trees to publish books, library owners eventually fail to generate a huge public traction like the previous days.