Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now ‘one big traffic jam’. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

Nowadays, the desire for car usage has increased significantly from thirty years ago and that has impacted traffic in many cities. I totally agree with this opinion. I will discuss the causes and render the solutions which governments can take to solve this problem. Transportation congestion may come from a variety of reasons, but the main reason is ride usage increase. At present, there are many factors that make people own cars. For example, a marketing competition between automobile dealers, which doesn't cause a monopoly market so that makes most car prices are affordable. Also, banks release loans more easily and define a lower down payment. Furthermore, the disadvantages of using public transportation outweigh the advantages such as sanitation, punctuality and prices. As a result, people have more opportunities to afford a car. Due to traffic jams, the government has issued measures to tackle the problem. However, these measures don't fix the problem at the point. For instance, a road expansion and creating more roads. The measures should focus on the number of cars on the road. For example, specifying the days for car usage, improving public transportation and increasing the parking prices and gas prices. In conclusion, in my opinion, people can afford to buy a wagon more easily than the past. Therefore, the amount of car increase in roads causes transportation congestion. The government should be concerned about the measure of efficacy and emphasize on decreasing the number of cars. In the future, traffic jams will be reduced.