SOME PEOPLE SAY THAT ART IS AN ESSENTIAL SUBJECT AND EVERY CHILD SHOULD LEARN IT IN SCHOOL. DO YOU AGREE OR DISAGREE?

It is often thought by some that art is an important course and children ought to be taught in institutes. This essay agrees with this statement because art promotes creativity and reduces stress. Firstly, the creative ability is an essential cognitive skill that painting and drawing can foster. The ability of children to develop this skill will improve when taught art within their institution's curriculum. This will enhance their imagination and reasoning technique which will be useful for them at even in adulthood. For example, in South Africa, the National Teachers Association in 2010 enforced the teaching of art to all students from primary school level to secondary school level. This led to immense improvement in their student's general academics because they were able to reason better and improve their problem solving ability in other subjects. Another reason why art is necessary is that it reduces stress. Children who had the opportunity to learn an art in school can use it as a means to relieve their stress from everyday life even as an adult. They are able to entertain themselves with art such as music; this keeps them engaged and act as a means to do something different from their regular academic activity. For instance, Tom Jones, a student of Victory High Academy, who took the violin classes in school last year, informed his teachers that the use of the instrument has helped him, whenever he suffered from anxiety. In conclusion, I agree that art should be an essential subject at learning institutions and every child should be taught because it improve their imaginative ability and relieve stress.