Fossil fuels (coal, oil, natural gas) are the main source in many countries, but in some countries the use of alternative source of energy (wind and solar energy) are encouraged. To what extent do you think it is a positive or negative development?

It is true that the uses of conventional energy like coal, oil and natural gases have been incredibly soaring across the world. On the other hand, some countries are trying to adopt an alternative source of energy which in my opinion is a positive development since it is pollution-free and cheap. The great benefit of using green energy power is pollution-free. It is to say that solar energy and the wind turbine is produced by sun, wind and water, so it does not emit hazardous pollutant into the air which causes global warming, unlike the use of fossil fuel. Most European countries like Finland and Denmark have been gradually shifting from non-renewable energy to renewable energy. For instance, a recent study by the BBC news revealed that these countries are in the top list of the eco-friendly countries due to using cars on battery and their use cycles for commuting. Adopting an alternative source like solar and wind is beneficial because it is profound cheap in production. As the installation of such energy does not require many funds for the installation, many countries are dependent on other nations to supply fossil fuels. As a result, using green energy such countries will be independent and can produce energy in-house with just low funds. For example, in Bangladesh, which is the smallest country now producing solar energy with 750MW without relying on another nation. In conclusion, although utilization of fossil fuels is expeditiously accelerating, I think eco-friendly energy like solar and wind source have countless benefits such as they are not costly and do not cripple the environment, hence, they should be encouraged.