Many efforts have been made by countries to address challenges concerning the environment but the situation has not improved. What are the possible reasons for environmental degradation? Are there any solutions to combat this problem? Support your answer with specific reasons and examples.

In recent years, the world has been faced with the issue of atmospheric deterioration. This a challenging problem is mostly caused by deforestation of plant life and the use of fossil fuel as a major source of energy. Solutions such as afforestation and the use of electricity and solar energy can replace the use of fossil fuel to produce clean and healthy air. Nowadays, modification of the environment in the form of development has altered the natural ecosystem. The process of plant respiration produces oxygen which is vital and essential to humans. Biological studies show that plants inhale our used gas, which is carbon dioxide and exhales oxygen. Therefore, logging of trees alters this environmental balance as there are not enough trees to give out oxygen. In addition, the use of fossil material as a major source of energy in the world has caused a tremendous decline in the environment. Fossil fuels such as diesel and petroleum are used by automobiles, aviation, and other industries. Consequently, these engines pollute the entire air with its product which is carbon dioxide, thus replacing the amount in circulation. The government has a role to play in ensuring there are clean and healthy surroundings by enacting legislation to control pollution as well as to regulate deforestation and encouraging the masses to imbibe the habit of planting a tree. Besides, automobile and aviation companies should manufacture engines that consume less fuel and produces less emission of CO in turn. The recent introduction of solar and cell-powered cars is a major step to curbing the problem of pollution in the atmosphere. In conclusion, with the political will towards deforestation and the use of battery and solar cars, the issue of environmental depletion will be taken care of. In addition, rarely do people realize the consequences of their actions, so they should try to tackle this problem.