The range of technology available to people is increasing the gap between the rich and the poor. Others think it has an opposite effect. Discuss both views and give your opinions.

It is true that, nowadays technology plays an important role in our life. Some people think that technology development can cause to unequality between the poor and the rich, while others suppose oppositely. In my opinion, technology has made contribution to equality for every member in society. Certain inventions and discoveries decreased the gap between people of different income levels. This is because they are accessible to all people due to their availability at cheaper rates. For example, the internet technology is available to almost all sections of the society. It is affordable to all people and certain places such as railway stations, bus stations and airport are WiFi hotspots where internet is freely available. Online shopping facilities, e-learning opportunities and social networking sites are available to both affluent and poor people in the society and they decrease the gap between the upper and low classes. Furthermore, they can take online courses that presented by prestigious foreign universities and benefit from them. However, certain advancements in technology are not affordable for the low income people of the society. People in developed countries can work at home or from anywhere in the world. Moreover, they can even go online-shopping, things can be delivered to their home by just one mouse-click. Secondly, the progress of medicine can treat a range of diseases, however, the cost of treatment is increasingly high, which is only affordable for the wealthy. So many people in developing countries are suffering the severe pain or even die because of poverty. In conclusion, certain innovations in technology decrease the gap between the rich and the poor while certain developments make society more polarized. It is hoped that in the near future all technologies will be available to all people regardless of their economic status.