Eating too much sugar is harmful for health. Some people think that it is government responsibility to limit people’s sugar consumption, while others think that it is individual responsibility to limit the amount of sugar they eat. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

First of all, eating sugar is detrimental to health. There are many papers relating the sugar consumption with diabetes or other critical diseases. As you consume more sugar you get higher chances of getting one of these diseases, consequently, it is recommended to keep the sugar ingestion as low as possible. For this reason, cutting down sugar consumption is one of the challenges society is facing today. On one hand, people are demanding the government to dictate the proper laws to limit the quantity, on the other hand, some people claim for an individual responsibility as they do not want to see restricted their liberties. As a result of huge marketing campaigns, many people fall into the trap of consuming products with high sugar percentage. Usually, this public belongs to the lower-middle class, with a low level of education and less information. These kind of people are the ones who the government would try to protect if they decided to edict some regularization laws. However, some communities who think this could turn into a mechanism to give more control to the government, restricting individual liberties. Also, it could be unfair to the people who are aware of this situation and they can make a reasonable sugar consumption. Besides, each one must decide for themselves, not needing others to make each own decision. To sum up, it is very complicated to make the right decision, due to it interfere with personal liberty. In my opinion, it should be controlled and discouraged by the government, but not as much to restrict the liberty of the people.