Some people think that environmental problems are too big for individuals to solve, while others think that the government cannot solve these environmental problems unless individuals make some action. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The issue of environmental problems has become a matter of discussion for many. Some people argue that such global issues cannot be solved by an individual, while others disagree. Personally, I believe that it will require a cumulative effort from both public and government to mitigate this world-wide pandemic. In this essay, I shall examine both points of view and outline the solutions. On the one hand, it is true that certain environmental problems cannot be solved by an individual. For example, today a large portion of the oil is transported between various countries through cargo ships and any accidental damage to such ships, often results into millions of gallons of toxic crude oil being dumped into the sea. Studies have shown that oil-mining industries are the major part of water pollution in the sea. Thus, it is clear that the public cannot take any effort to stop this issue and only government could prevent it by enforcing stricter regulations. Furthermore, our today's economy and industries, primarily depend on electricity produced by coal and to fuel its ever increasing demand, government of many nations are constantly constructing more power plants that run on burning coal. Such type of power plants is one of the main reasons for rapidly increasing air pollution. Adding to this, statistically it is shown that efforts made by individuals have little to no effect in preventing pollution from the coal industry. On the other hand, many environmental issues require actions from public. For example, soil pollution in major cities is a growing concern, due to the lack of awareness about recycling in general public. Government in many countries is constantly struggling to limit such type of pollution, however, it can only be resolved if each and every individual takes the responsibility of practicing positive recycling habits. In conclusion, from the given arguments and examples it is apparent that environmental problems are a global issue, that will demand the effort from everyone in the society. So what can be done? I believe that the problem has to be tackled on a number of levels. In the future, we could expect to see improvement only if we work together against such issues.