Digital communication technology, such as email, instant messaging and social media, has improved communication and connections between people. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Undoubtedly advancement in technology, improved the way people connect with each other. However, does it really change the type of relationship? In this essay, I will argue that while digital contact may be easy and convenient, it is no substitute for face-to-face conversation. Compared to the past, technology reduce the distance between humans. Earlier, they have to send a postcard to communicate, which took months to reach the receiver. Now individuals just have to pick their phone and dial the number. Secondly, Thirty years ago, it is far expensive to get in touch with people, who lives in a different country. However, various social media apps such as Skype, Whatsapp makes it easier for a person to connect with others without worrying about physical distances between them. To illustrate with an example, according to a survey from The Time of India, majority of people agree that they would prefer face-to-face contact whenever possible. While, machinery made it easier to communicate, it has not improved connection and relationship among people in any meaningful way. Email, Facebook can never replace face-to-face conversation. As most of the conversation is non-verbal and we have to rely on body language & facial expression and people cannot imagine what actually going on. Connection among people depends on true communication and this is possible only when people face-to-face. To conclude, there is no doubt that technology makes life easier and now people can easily communicate with others, although this is not the true communication and people are still missing one-to-one communication and I agree on this.