As a result of tourism and the increasing number of people travelling, there is a growing demand for more flights. What problems does this have on the environment? What measures should be taken to solve the problems?

The issue of ever increasing air traffic has become a matter of discussion for many. It is argued that it has negative effects on the environment. In this essay, I shall outline the main consequences of this trend and examine the possible solutions. There are numerous predominant problems that increased amount of flights pose to the environment. Firstly, as airline traffic is growing continuously, it is also increasing the pollution that comes with it. A recent study done by Stanford university showed that the airline industry is predicted to reach two folds by the year 2030. This could mean unprecedented growth in both air pollution and pollutants. Secondly, in order to fulfil this demand, oil companies are rapidly burning through resources such as coal and fossil fuel. According to statistics published by Oxford university, world is expected to run out of both of these energy sources in next 10 years. Therefore, this issue can be considered as a serious global threat. So what can be done? I believe that this problem could be tackled on a number of levels. For example, by making more efficient engines for planes, their gas consumption can be reduced significantly. In addition, many manufacturing companies are now looking into making passenger planes much bigger, this will allow for a higher sum of people that could travel at a time, in turn reducing the frequency of flights. Last but not the least, the government could impose new regulations to limit the sum of tourists coming into the country, as this could help to lessen the overall air traffic. In conclusion, this is a topic that raises many questions in contemporary life, and from the given arguments and examples it is clear that various steps can be taken to mitigate this trend. In the future, it will be fruitful to review the reasoning stated above in order to realize improvements in this direction.