Many elderly people are no longer looked after by their families but are put in care homes or nursing homes. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

It is becoming increasingly common for families to send their elderly relatives to nursing homes, rather than taking care of them at home. This essay will highlight some of the benefits and drawbacks of this change. Looking firstly at the positives, one significant advantage of sending elders in nursing homes is that they are better equipped to cater to the needs of the elderly than family homes. For example, most nursing homes do not usually have stairs, and for those that do, elevators need to be installed. This can prevent problems, such as knee pain that tend to appear in geriatrics from complicating. Not only this, but the staff of care homes is professionally trained to handle the demands of the old aged. It is rare for members of a family to possess the skills. However, sending the elderly to care homes can also present some disadvantages, the most obvious of which is the lack of loved ones around. Although it is possible for friends and family members to visit nursing home residents, these visits are infrequent and can loneliness is often the consequence. Making matters worse, it is shown that loneliness often results in depression and weakening of the immune system. Furthermore, care home residents are often surrounded by illness. Such an environment is likely to curtail happiness and trigger severe depression. To conclude, despite the benefits of trained staff and well-equipped facilities provided by nursing homes, the drawbacks of loneliness and its concomitant depression should also be taken into consideration.