Violence on television has a negative impact on children’s behaviour. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

These days almost every house contains a TV set and it is reasonable to assume that box programs impact the behaviour of the young and impressionable. It is my belief that disturbance on TV set leads to violent behaviour for some children and fearful and withdrawn behaviour for others. Watching violent programs leads some children to copy violent behaviour. Many programs contain extremely realistic scenes of violence and it has been shown that children who watch these types of programs may think violence is normal. For example, if a child watches a scene depicting violent bullying occurring in a school, he/she may think it is acceptable and so copy the behaviour. Additionally, after watching violent television, many children exhibit higher levels of aggression, which can result in injuries or emotional problems. For instance, recently in the news there was the story of a child who broke his playmate’s back by replicating dangerous fighting moves that he had seen on television earlier that day. Furthermore, if children witness television violence they may become withdrawn and afraid of others. It has been shown that while older children may copy violent behaviour, toddlers are more likely to become anxious, impacting their behaviour. Such children may refuse to go outside for fear of violence, which could affect their social development as they will be less likely to mix with other children and learn social skills. In conclusion, TV violence clearly affects the behaviour of children negatively. While older children may become normalized to violent behaviour or even copy it, younger ones may become anxious and display fearful behaviour. Parents should carefully consider what they allow their children to watch on television and should not let children watch television unattended.