Write an essay (150 - 300 words) about this topic: Using a computer every day can have more negative than positive effects on children. Do you agree or disagree?

In these days, there is no denying that computer is one of the all-time greatest inventions of human being. However, I firmly believe that the merits of computers tend to be overshadowed by demerits if children use them daily. First of all, overusing computers, the youngster could be segregated from other people around them. It is simply because once they waste most of their time utilizing computers, they would not have much contact with their parents or friends. A child who is a computer addict, for example, has a tendency to refuse to play with other kids as well as to engage in outdoor activities in order to could devote hours to watch cartoons in front of the laptop. This means that there is less interaction between him and his fellows, which is often not recommended for young children since they need to be active and to acquire new knowledge in the real world from their families and friends to broaden their horizons. Secondly, due to young age, children between the age of 6 and 12 might absorb harmful information in the computer which has negative impacts on their awareness and behaviours. In fact, the youth are said to be likely to mimic the actors’ actions in games and films. Consequently, should children have access to a great deal of violent games or horror films, they can lose faith in their lives and may become people who commit illegal actions in the future such as commit murder, become robbery, and so on. In conclusion, I am totally in agreement with the idea that using computers daily will put an array of negative impacts on children. However, they could still take advantages of this wonderful invention if they use it suitably and effectively. Therefore, parents should teach their kids to be self-disciplined and to manage their time well when using computers.