Some people think that the government should spend more money on public services rather than wasting money on the arts. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Some individuals believe that spending money on public services is indispensable, rather than spending on other art forms. While I accept public services are important to the whole society so certainly the government should allocate funds for this, I also believe money spent on the arts is useful. On the one hand, I acknowledge that spending money on public services is more important. Since public services include hospitals, schools and infrastructure, which helps to give a better lifestyle to the whole community. If the higher authority does not spend a certain amount on hospitals with qualified doctors and nurses and the latest well-equipped machinery, the mortality rate will increase. Similarly, if government bodies stop providing funds for schools, the younger generation who is the future of the country will not get the education and resulting in accelerating the percentage of illiteracy and unemployment, which leads economic progress slow. On the other hand, I would argue spending money on the arts is not a waste of money due to several reasons. Firstly, the art reflects the culture and history of the country. Many countries like the USA, Europe and India have museums and many historical buildings which attracts many tourists from other parts of the world to see them, hence, to maintain and preserve these monuments requires a lot of funds from the government to support it. Secondly, there are many artists in the world like singers, painters and dancers to entertain society and their income completely depends on such arts. If they do not get support from the government, they will be penniless. As a result, the artistic sector would be on the verge of disappearance. In conclusion, although I concede that the public services should be given first priority, I believe spending money on the arts are also as important as in other sectors.